Remember me?

tour london au pair

Remember me? I’m the girl that wrote something about moving to England and wanting to document my experience and then never posted anything else. Doesn’t ring a bell? Well, I’m back with an update and I plan on posting stuff more regularly on this blog. Looking at my past record, I don’t think I’m going to keep it up for long, but one can always dream.

I’ve been in England for almost two months now and I absolutely love it here. And I’m not just saying that because I’m stuck here for at least another nine months. I haven’t been homesick and I did not have a culture shock. I expected to go through some kind of adjustment period, but the only thing I had to get used to was having milk in my tea. That only took me a couple of days.

My grandparents keep asking me if there is anything I don’t like in England and I really can’t think of anything. Of course, it is exhausting to constantly have to listen and talk in a language that isn’t your native language, but that is something you get used to. Also, the kids fight a lot and they cry and sometimes I have to stop myself from yelling at them to shut up.

Some of the other au pairs in Aldershot regularly tell me how jealous they are of my family. I can just sit there and listen to their stories about how horrible their families are (cameras in the living room and kitchen, children that hit them, crappy pay) and feel smug because my host family is amazing.

A quick introduction to my host family:

Lauren is the host mum and she is a philosophy teacher at a very posh British boarding school we like to call Hogwarts. She is married to Curtis. He likes to go Pokemon hunting and knows exactly what to do if there is a zombie apocalypse. Their kids are called Raphael and Etienne. Raphael is eight years old, plays the guitar and has a rabbit that he takes everywhere. He is prone to crying and often gets in trouble because his sister asks him to do stuff they aren’t allowed to do (like eating fish flakes). Etienne is seven years old. She collects plush toys, hates dresses and is very stubborn, but she is also very sweet and wants everyone to like her.

It is almost half-term and over the weeks I have developed a daily routine that works great for me. I take the kids to school, get home, shower, do some translation work, drink a lot of coffee and pick the kids up from school again. On Tuesdays and Thursdays, I cook them dinner. In the evenings, I don’t have to work and I use that time to read and watch Netflix. Friday nights are for dinner at the pub with the other au pairs and the weekends are for relaxing and going to London.

I only have three more days of work before my holiday starts and I can’t wait to get away for a bit. I’m going on a trip through Scotland (Inverness, Isle of Skye and Edinburgh) before moving on to Dublin and there will be pictures on my Instagram. And hopefully on this blog.

2 Comments

  1. 12 October 2017 / 3:16 pm

    Your host family sounds great! I love the way your blog looks and your writing style is great.

Leave a Reply